Kragero, Norway: Part 2

by donnamh92

The real reason we got the whole family out to Norway was for little Lukas’ christening. None of our family were christened and we don’t have a religious background but it’s the done thing in Norway apparently and I really enjoyed it.
Annika was wearing Norwegian national dress and looked lovely, don’t you think?Image

The christening was part of a normal church service, which was obviously in Norwegian so I didn’t understand much but they did give us a mention in English! There were lots of children’s songs and Kevin and Annika played a tune on the fiddle and hardanger which they wrote for Lukas.  It was a lovely service.

Afterwards we went back to Annika’s parents’ house for FOOD.

Image

Unfortunately I was too hungry to capture any photos of the amazing buffet but here are the cakes. And my sister’s husband made some Scottish tablet for the Norwegians to try!

Image

Image

This is an unfortunately small panoramic photo taken on my phone of Annika’s parents’ view!  Their house is so beautiful and this is what you see out huge windows (which open out onto a balcony) in their dining area.  Breakfast looking out to this?  Yes please.

Because it was such a nice day me, Fiona and Janice went out for a walk before joining everyone sitting outside as the children played.  We also went up to Kevin and Annika’s house site for a look.

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageI think these photos are super cute and love how children can get on with each other when they’ve just met and don’t even speak the same language.  (The girl in the middle is Annika’s niece so only speaks Norwegian, while my niece and nephew, Ellie & Lewis only speak English.)  Us adults need to take a leaf out of their books and have less inhibitions when meeting folk!
Image

Image

ImagePerfect way to spend my last night.  Lukas loves bath time!

I’m hoping to get back to Norway in the summer time to see them.  It feels like I’m missing out loads with a nephew in Norway while I’m in Scotland.  But luckily they’re coming to Shetland for 3 weeks in the summer while I’m up too.  Very excited about that!

 

 

