Diabetes blogging

by donnamh92

My idea when starting this blog was to write a lot about diabetes but also have posts about general things like holidays I’ve been on etc, in an aim to get non diabetics reading.  That’s one thing I think is missing from the world of diabetes blogging – blogs which reach people with and without diabetes. I can read diabetes blogs for hours and hours taking in every word, feeling grateful other people feel the same way as me, understanding what people are going through and comparing my experiences to theirs. But would my friends read them with the same interest? I doubt it.

The trouble is, even if I did blog about both – a diabetes post followed by a “I went for lunch with my friends” post – I think people would just pick and choose what they read. (If I got any readers at all that is!)

Trying to get people without diabetes to have any empathy for diabetes is something I see as a huge problem. I don’t understand what it is about things like cancer that is so emotive for most people, that just doesn’t work with diabetes. Let me know if you have any views on this, even if they sound offensive!

Anyway for now the aim is to do more diabetes posts anyway, as they are much harder to write than posts with photos of what I’ve been up to. This has meant that 90% of the posts I do are posts like those, with only about 10% diabetes, which is never what I wanted this to be. So I’m planning to do a few posts called “What it feels like to…” on being hypo, hyper, injecting, going to clinics, carbohydrate counting etc etc.

Here goes!

